Give us Feedback

HTC One SV Pro Reviews

HTC One SV review: a middleweight performer that's not just a pretty face

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on May 22, 2013

The One SV is all about compromise. Its specifications aren't going to wow anyone into an impulse purchase, especially in a world spoiled by quad-core chips and 720p displays. Still, performance is more than adequate. However, a fast-loading 5-megapixel camera will allow for some opportunistic shots, even if it won't ultimately satisfy more advanced photographers. You're dealing with an 800 x 480 display, and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone who plans on using their phone to consume high-def content or play detailed games. Still, we would choose it over the One S's denser-pixel screen 10 out of 10 times. You'll definitely get a device that's dressed to kill, but it feels slightly awkward to hold, with the slim, tapered sides digging uncomfortably into the hand at times. Booting up a brand-new phone only to see Ice Cream Sandwich running in the background is also a bit of a bummer, and one would hope a Jelly Bean update is in the works. We're sure many will be interested in the One SV, at least in the UK where some still consider 4G a myth, and where Everything Everywhere is offering the handset free on a two-year contract (£36 per month). It's the cheapest deal the network is offering, matched only by identically priced plans for the Nokia Lumia 820 and Huawei Ascend P1 LTE. If you're in the market for an inexpensive Android device with high-speed data capabilities, that leaves you two choices on EE. Huawei's Ascend P1 compromises on different things than the One SV, making both flawed but worthy options. Those who like the biggest or the best aren't going to want a One SV; it's not a heavy-hitter, and that's that.
From: Engadget
Published on: Feb 06, 2013
Not rated

HTC One SV (Boost Mobile) Review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Mar 22, 2013

4G LTE support and a gorgeous design make the HTC One SV the smartphone to beat on Boost.
From: PC Magazine
Published on: Mar 21, 2013
8.0 Rated at:

Review: HTC One SV for Cricket Wireless

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Mar 14, 2013

I don't think Cricket customers can do much better than the HTC One SV right now. Sure, it costs a hefty $349.99, but everything about it works well. The biggest complaint I can point out is that call quality and volume are only "average" and not "excellent." That's hardly something to cry about. Nearly every other feature of the SV functions well. HTC did a great job with the hardware, and the screen and battery life are both quite good. The Sense 4.0 user interface is sometimes a bit fussy, but it offers more personalization that most other Android skins do. With the good camera and video camera, excellent media options, and solid network performance, the SV is a winner for Cricket.
From: Phone Scoop
Published on: Jan 22, 2013
Not rated

HTC One SV review: Picking up speed

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Mar 13, 2013

The HTC One SV packs a curious personality, that's for sure. The handset combines good looks (especially in the red color scheme), superb build quality, rich set of features, and adequate performance all in one - those are qualities which HTC smartphones are well known for. Even an Android power user should be able to live with the handset on a daily basis without having much to complain about. As far as the phone's disadvantages go, we must note that they are highly atypical for an HTC device in this particular price range. We are still scratching our heads over the display's WVGA resolution - after all, it was HTC, which first started offering phones with the higher-res qHD screens back when WVGA was still considered the standard in 2011. The still camera could have offered much better performance, too - it is not up to par with what the camcorder has to offer. And our remark has nothing to do with the relatively low megapixel count it has on tap - there are plenty of fine 5MP snappers out there.
From: GSMArena
Published on: Jan 28, 2013
Not rated

HTC One SV review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Feb 13, 2013

There are always going to be compromises in the mid-range. The HTC One SV makes some to be more affordable which we can live with: it’s powerful enough for daily activities and the screen resolution, although lacking the wow factor, is enough for most things. Naturally 4G is appealing, but this phone does start to look rather expensive when you attach the tariff to it, as EE’s pricing is currently rather aggressive. The real question is whether it’s the fastest network performance you’re after, or the best device, as you may well be able to pick up a better HTC phone, without 4G, elsewhere.
From: Pocket-lint
Published on: Feb 06, 2013
7.0 Rated at:

Review HTC One SV Smartphone

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Feb 13, 2013

Our overall impression is mostly positive: the HTC One SV is pretty complete package. A middle-class smartphone with up-to-date hardware, LTE support, and a nice design. We appreciate the integrated MicroSD card reader and the replaceable battery, but don't like the fact that the phone ships with an older Android version (4.0.4). The HTC Sense UI is visually pleasing, although the virtual keyboard is way too crowded. The talk quality, the main camera with 5 megapixels for simple snapshots, and the warranty period (24 months) are all welcome features. One of our main points of criticism is the 4.3-inch display, which only supports a low resolution of 480 x 800 pixels - although the display measurements are all quite good. We would expect at least support for the qHD standard (540 x 960 pixels). The mono speaker is also pretty average: the Beats Audio logo promises better sound quality. The performance of the Qualcomm dual-core SoC offers decent performance; the low power consumption leads to long battery life. For an LTE smartphone with card reader, replaceable battery, and decent overall quality, 430 Euro (~$590) is money well spent. On the other hand, Long Term Evolution (LTE) is not that common in Germany yet and therefore pretty exotic. The Google Nexus 4 is a very price competitive high-end phone at 300 Euro - but does not feature a card reader or a replaceable battery.
Published on: Feb 07, 2013
8.7 Rated at:

HTC One SV review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Feb 08, 2013

The HTC One SV is a mid-range Android phone that has a comfortable design, 4G capabilities and reasonably good battery life. However, the low resolution screen and mediocre camera make it overpriced. A good but far from great smartphone.
From: PC Advisor
Published on: Feb 07, 2013
7.0 Rated at:

HTC One SV Review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Feb 07, 2013

There's no questioning the $349.99 HTC One SV's bold styling, thin and compact design, and premium construction. I also find the phone easy and enjoyable to use thanks to a snappy processor and HTC's software enhancements gingerly placed over Android ICS. The camera app and imaging system show lots of promise too, with the copious settings, extra features, and fast shot-to-shot times. That's why I found the phone's blocky image quality such a letdown. The same is true of the One SV's low-res display, which is not what I've come to expect from HTC. For example, both the Droid DNA and HTC One X+ sport excellent high-resolution screens. For its current $279.99 price after discounts and rebates, the HTC One SV is a pretty good deal, especially considering you don't need to sign a binding service contract. If you have $100 extra, I'd say springing for the $379.99 (also after rebates) Samsung Galaxy S3 would make a lot of sense, since it offers a much better screen and camera. Still, if you can live with its quirks, the lovely HTC One SV is hard to pass up.
From: CNET Reviews
Published on: Feb 01, 2013
7.7 Rated at:

HTC One SV review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Jan 28, 2013

We can't help but think the HTC One SV has been rushed out to capitalise on the 4G rollout which is picking up speed in Europe and this phone is looking to cash in on those desperate to have the latest technology. That's not to say the One SV is a bad handset – if HTC had priced it closer to the One V instead of the One S then it would be a very different proposition, unfortunately it's not and that's the main issue we have. It's good to see another proper mid-range handset enter the 4G fray, but the Taiwanese firm has got its sums wrong on this occasion and ultimately that's going to make the HTC One SV a difficult one to shift.
From: TechRadar UK
Published on: Jan 19, 2013
7.0 Rated at:

HTC One SV Review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Jan 25, 2013

You can certainly see HTC’s strategy: make a neatly styled, midrange device that balances battery life with the usefulness of 4G, and help push LTE connectivity out of the premium tier. Unfortunately, some of the company’s decisions – or, perhaps, the corners cut in order to meet the target price – take their toll on the One SV proposition overall. We could live with the last-gen processor, and even the WVGA display only really proved glaringly disappointing when viewing media, but the lackluster camera is a serious blip. HTC first debuted its ImageChip technology with research suggesting mobile photography was one of the key factors buyers weighed in picking a new phone; unfortunately, that’s where the One SV falls most short. Couple that – in the UK at least – with some expensive tariff pricing from EE that puts an altogether more appealing handset within easy reach, and the HTC One SV loses more of its shine. It’s not a bad device, but it demands too many compromises from cutting-edge users tempted by 4G, and can’t compete on price with more affordable HSPA+ phones on other networks.
From: SlashGear
Published on: Jan 23, 2013
Not rated

HTC One SV (Cricket Wireless) Review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Jan 23, 2013

The HTC One SV is a well-built midrange LTE smartphone for Cricket's new 4G network.
From: PC Magazine
Published on: Jan 22, 2013
7.0 Rated at:

HTC One SV review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Jan 16, 2013

The One SV is a great phone for what it is - a mid-range device designed for LTE connectivity. The phone makes performance sacrifices for affordability, which helps open LTE up for a wider audience. Unfortunately, the One SV doesn't do enough to try and make up for the battery drain of LTE. Only packing an 1800mAh battery in the device makes the faster network speed feel like a poor compromise. There's no question that a higher-specced device, like the iPhone 5, HTC One XL or 4G Galaxy S3 offers better performance than the One SV. But if budget constraints mean these handsets aren't actually an option, the One SV is a decent option.
From: TechRadar UK
Published on: Jan 16, 2013
7.0 Rated at:

HTC One SV Review

Edit

Submitted by MG3 on Jan 11, 2013

Not bad, HTC, not bad. The smarthpone that you've crafted may be a bit rough around the edges, but it is still a very solid Android offering, and the presence of LTE connectivity is, of course, more than welcome. Whoever picks the HTC One SV up will be pleased by the excellent performance driving it and delighted by its outstanding appearance. Yet let us not forget that the HTC One SV belongs to the mid-range category, although one might assume it is a high-end handset prior to actually using it. In other words, there are some compromises that an One SV owner should learn to live with, among which are the relatively low-res display and the not-so-amazing 5-megapixel camera.
From: Phone Arena
Published on: Jan 10, 2013
7.5 Rated at:

The average pro reviews rating is 7.4 / 10, based on the 13 reviews.


How we do it

We humanly agregate professional reviews from a number of high quality sites. This way, we are giving you a quick way to see the average rating and save you the need to search the reviews on your own. You want to share a professional review you like?