Compare Gadgets Vs. Compare

Nintendo Wii SpecsUser Reviews

  • Overall rating
    8.1

    This is the average overall rating, based on 53 user reviews.


tazz6907

Love my Wii

Created by tazz6907 on Jun 30, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I love my Wii. I've had it since it came out. I was one of those people that waited in line for it while the shortages were prevalent. I love the Wii for getting large groups of people together for game night. Embarrassingly Mario Party drinking games have become a regular event at my house. Even my parents play. Netflix on it is great too. Very easy to set up and use. Only downside is the lack of HD.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Netflix
  • activity level
  • group interaction
  • great multiplayer
  • Cons

  • Lack of HD for Netflix
  • weak graphics
  • weird controls for complex games.
milllllller

Love my Wii

Created by milllllller on Jun 14, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
i'm a pretty casual gamer as far as consoles go; i'm more into handheld gaming because i find the simplicity to be more fun to me. but being as casual a gamer as i am, the Wii has been absolutely perfect. it has classic titles like mario kart and smash bros and super mario that are great for 1.) pick-up-and-play gaming and 2.) multiplayer party-style gaming. yes the Wii is crazy innovative because of all of it's features, and yes it really is great for gamers of all ages, and yes it features an online gaming store and various other features that utilize the internet; these features are great, and if they are intriguing enough to sway your decision to buy a console, awesome, take them into consideration. but i believe that a console should be purchased based on the fun and replay values that the purchaser foresees him/herself getting back from the machine. this being said, the Wi is fun for anyone, but i believe it's best for casual gamers like myself who are into pick-up-and-play and party style gaming.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • graphics
  • game qualities
  • replay value
  • potential for fun multiplayer
  • Cons

  • all accessories/internet features of the Wii make you spend more money
tocker

Great gaming for the whole family

Created by tocker on Jun 01, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
Although Wii lacks in graphics, the interactive 3D remotes provides lots of fun.
I play Call of Duty, while my kids play Mario Kart, Sport Resort etc.
Guitar Hero helped my kids learn about rock classics.

All in all a great buy!
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Interactive controls
  • active play
  • family-friendly
  • Cons

  • graphics
  • having to buy extra HW to play certain games
gekohan1

Fun station

Created by gekohan1 on May 13, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
This is a great little system that is awesome at entertaining both young and the young at heart. I have had some parties in which all my guests did was play we in competitions and elimination to find the champion. There is nothing funnier then seeing several people in a row wiggle and waggle their bodies on a Wii balance board. Even my grandmother, who is in a nursing home has one on the premises so that the elderly get some exercise. They recently had a bowling competition, sadly my grandma did not win =D.
  • Overall rating
    9.0

  • Pros

  • Fun factor
  • the remote innovations
  • some of the games
  • compact size
  • ease of use
  • price point
  • Cons

  • Most of the games
  • game pricing
  • short battery life (buy a battery charger)
  • not for hardcore gamers
bpm42

Wish I got the 360 instead of this

Created by bpm42 on May 08, 2010

Ownership period: less than 1 year.
This is a great console for younger kids. Not a huge fan of the game selection and the controls are unique and fun, but only for some games. Ive played with the other new consoles and enjoy the Xbox 360 a bit more.
  • Overall rating
    6.0

  • Pros

  • Unique control method
  • Cons

  • unique control method
jroc74

Wish I would have grab this instead of the 360...

Created by jroc74 on May 02, 2010

Ownership period: less than 1 year.
Back when it first came out, I had a chance to get a Wii, but instead got the Xbox 360. Fast forward a few years and I was just now able to get my hands on a Wii. Where do I start...

Its real fun to play with other people. It brings folks together to play games like back in the day: Twister, Dodgeball, etc. Interactive games, but its all in the home on a console!!

If you are a guy and think playing games on Wii Fit isn't manly, you haven't tried to play anyl. There are plenty of manly games on Wii Fit so you don't feel embarrassed to tell folks you play it. A fun game and a decent workout? Its like how some teachers connect to their students better than others: They make learning fun. The Wii makes working out fun.

Not all games require you to use the wand & nunchuk. You can use it like a regular gamepad for some games.

You have access to most of the classics the older gamer remember: NES, SNES,; even classics from other systems: Neo Geo, Turbo Grafix 16, etc.

Has WiFi built in and you can surf the web from the Wii.

Its cheaper and probably more reliable than the other next gen systems out.

Games are mostly geared towards kids, which means you rarely have to worry about checking if a game is suitable for your children. This is a pro and a con at the same time.

You cant go wrong with a Wii.
  • Overall rating
    9.0

  • Pros

  • Cheaper than other next gen systems
  • games mostly for kids
  • brings families together like back in the day
  • Built in WiFi
  • Cons

  • Mostly geard towards kids
  • isnt exactly next gen compared to the other consoles.
GHartz

Nintendo Wii for the family

Created by GHartz on Apr 28, 2010

Ownership period: less than 1 year.
We bought the Nintendo Wii for our children at Christmas 2009. But to be honest, my wife and I use it more than they do. My wife loves the fitness applications and games, and I honestly enjoy the tennis in Wii Sports as much as any other video game I've played.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Easy enough to use for the entire family. Even six year olds
  • Cons

  • None to mention
bobcatbull

WII = MAC of gaming

Created by bobcatbull on Apr 02, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
its the MAC of gaming consoles because my wife who hates computers, loves her MAC, in the same she hates my XBOX360, but loves playing WII. Its not complicated, the games are easy enough that she can play them without getting frustrated.
  • Overall rating
    10.0

  • Pros

  • Simple
  • Cons

  • its not for the hard core people.
SpiritStealer

good things

Created by SpiritStealer on Mar 12, 2010

Ownership period: less than a month.
the best thing of having Wii is that u are not getting a normal Gaming device but you're getting gaming device with active game experience that should every body try especially the gaming sensors which the hole device counts on.
  • Overall rating
    7.0

Kazoom

Stay with it!

Created by Kazoom on Mar 08, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
When I first got a wii I loved it and so did everyone else as time went on I played it less and less and thought about selling it. I am glad I didnt the wii can be boring BUT keep it when it is awesome to play with friends and family especially party games like rock band 2 beatles rock band new super mario bros. if you are looking for more of single player only games the wii might not be your cup of tea. It does have some fun single player games like Animal Crossing or Metroid prime bu if you want first person shooter get a 360.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Fun with friends and family
  • rock band
  • online play.
  • Cons

  • No HD
  • No netflix(yet)
  • annoying friend codes
  • lack of more online features.
mcalkins

friends and family

Created by mcalkins on Mar 07, 2010

Ownership period: less than 1 year.
The Wii has been great. It seems it doesnt matter what age everyone is they love bowling, mario kart, and many others. I really like it because the way you're interacting instead of just holding a controller.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • great games
  • fun with freinds and family
  • and also something different from everyother system.
  • Cons

  • needs more good games
gizmootis

Nintendo wii

Created by gizmootis on Mar 05, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
-Fun to play. -Many great games -Very compact unlike the ps3
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Everything
  • Cons

  • None at the moment
zero7ven

Fun little machine with family

Created by zero7ven on Mar 05, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I have enjoy playing this with my 6yo daughter, but as a stand alone gaming console, it is not powerful enough for serious gamers. What I don't like about it is the sensor bar. You have to put it in a location where all people wh will be playing can be picked up from it. If the TV is on a stand, then it works fine on top, but when the TV is on the wall, then you have to put the bar under the it somewhere.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Ga
  • es with classic characters from the golden age of Nintendo
  • easier games for kids
  • Cons

  • graphics are not up to standards
  • sensor bar setup
Jaymang2316

Alot of fun

Created by Jaymang2316 on Mar 05, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I've had it for awhile now and its a very fun system. A few things could be better but it's still very cool. the graphics could be alot better, and the game selection could be bigger. But overall i'm very satisfied.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • A better game experience
  • Cons

  • graphics
  • game selection
LVtechaddict

I love this console

Created by LVtechaddict on Mar 05, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
Ya know, the Wii has been getting some flak lately about being "gimmiky" and the novelty of it is getting old but I like it. The controls are fun and unique and it's not the typical "sit on the couch and work your thumbs" kinda console. It is still a great console.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • A refreshing change and different gaming experience.
  • Cons

  • The sensor bar can be a bit finicky at times if you're not in the right place.
vmike126

Good Console

Created by vmike126 on Mar 04, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I like the Nintendo Wii alot, especially when you are hanging out with friends. It is definitely a gaming system that you break out at parties, so you can laugh at your friends making idiots out of themselves jumping around and stuff. As for games, they are not as good as XBox360 or PS3 if you are looking for action games, but it all depends on what you're looking for
  • Overall rating
    7.0

  • Pros

  • Great party games
  • Cons

  • Not so great action/rpg games
slash_1001

Where are the games?

Created by slash_1001 on Mar 04, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
Don't get me wrong I love my Wii. For a long time it was the only "Next-Gen" console I had and I loved every second of it. This console has the potential to do so much but it has been marked as a very childish system. I firmly believe if more games from outside developers (I.E. Not Nintendo) would make games for it it could be the best, but no one will take a chance. The games Nintendo makes for it are amazing but they can only make Mario go through so many pipes and make Link save Zelda so many more times. As long as they do though I'm all for it.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Awesome games made for it by Nintendo
  • Innovative controls
  • Easy to use
  • Cons

  • Lacks graphical power
  • Most games are childish
BCzape723

Nintendo Wii

Created by BCzape723 on Feb 28, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I've had my wii for over two years now and i still love it and use it almost everyday. I have people over a lot and everyone enjoys a good game of wii. Wii sports are so fun along with guitar hero, just dance, ddr, mario kart, i love playing madden (its like real football) fifa is so fun too!
  • Overall rating
    9.0

  • Pros

  • Fun
  • hard work outs
  • entertaing
  • Cons

  • COD is boring on it...
eddsmetz

Good for Family

Created by eddsmetz on Feb 26, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
The wii is great for my two young daughters. They love to play the sports game, and they actually get a pretty good workout from it. So does their dad, lol. Just need a few more games along the line of call of duty or Assassin's Creed for the adults.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Fun for family.
  • Cons

  • Not enough action games.
ARI12

Good fitness concolse, not so much gaming

Created by ARI12 on Feb 25, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
The wii is very nice...my aunt had it and didn't really use it so my mom and her split it for my present and it was fun and still is...but i play the xbox 360 more because more of my friends have it, are on it, and it has a funner experience while the wii is a great exercise system and excentuates that with its tennis, golf, boxinb, and wii fit... It needs more games but has fun good graphic ones like need for speed... and snowboarding
  • Overall rating
    9.0

  • Pros

  • Good fitness system
  • Has nice games
  • plays gamecube games
  • Cons

  • Graphics and games available needs improvment..new controller design?
mattjmen

Nintendo

Created by mattjmen on Feb 25, 2010

Ownership period: less than 3 months.
To me the nintendo wii and the nintendo dsi were nintendo's last hope. At first the wii was a hit seller and eneryone loved it. Now I don't like it and neither does anyone else i know that has it. It is no fun after you have it for even a month and the games for it are terrible.
  • Overall rating
    4.0

nosaj

Great Little machine

Created by nosaj on Feb 25, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
Sure it doesn't play Blu-ray, but that is not the point. It is purely for gaming. The virtual library has grown in leaps and bounds, providing old favorites for cheap. Everyone else has scrambled to provide the interactive feedback that the Wii has. Sometimes Nintendo fails (remember Virtual Boy???) but thistime they hit a home-run.
  • Overall rating
    10.0

  • Pros

  • Fun
  • Great for 4 year olds to 90 year olds.
  • Cons

  • would like to see some more of my old 8-bit favorites available online
kiltlifter

Fun party machine

Created by kiltlifter on Feb 25, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
I hadn't purchased a new console, as I didn't want to spend the money at the time for an Xbox 360 or PS3. I was torn about which to buy b/c the PS3 has BluRay, but I prefer the games on Xbox.... so I decide to forego buying either of them. My wife really wanted to get the Wii, so I bought it for her for christmas. I was reluctant at first becuase the lower quality of graphics on the Wii, but after playing some games with her, I came to like the Wii, a lot.

The replay value on almost every interactive game is amazing, and playing in a group setting with friends if really fun. I am content with my purchase of this machine.
  • Overall rating
    8.0

  • Pros

  • Fun
  • replay value
  • motion controls and motion+
  • SMASH BROS!
  • Mario Kart
  • Cons

  • lower quality graphics than Xbox and PS3
dawnh

dawnh

Created by dawnh on Feb 22, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
Useful for keeping the kids active while playing video games they love to play. With the right games you can get a real intense workout, great for keeping in shape or getting in shape. Very entertaining to watch others play.
  • Overall rating
    7.0

  • Pros

  • Keeps players active while indoors if played the way intended.
  • Cons

  • Can get combersome with all the different gadgets to buy for different games.
swithme

Danny

Created by swithme on Feb 20, 2010

Ownership period: more than 1 year.
This is the coolest console I ever had.
A console very fun to play with, everybody in the family could play and spend time together. However, there are not many good games. Most of the games were short.
  • Overall rating
    9.0